Saturday, August 18, 2012

LL.M. Reunion and Welcome Celebration

The University of Arkansas School of Law is pleased to host the LL.M. Alumni Reunion and Welcome Celebration for the LL.M. Class of 2013, Friday, August 24, 2012.

For just over thirty years, the University of Arkansas School of Law has offered the only advanced legal degree program in agricultural law.  For the last several years, the name of the program has been agricultural and food law, emphasizing our unique approach to an integrated study of our food system, from farm to table.

Our LL.M. graduates now work in over 35 different states and 15 different countries, serving as leaders throughout the world  -  at the USDA, on Capital Hill, in academia, with state agencies and non-profits, representing clients and developing farm and food policy.

The events on Friday include:

Continuing Legal Education: Emerging Issues in Agricultural Law
1:00 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Neil Hamilton, Dwight D. Opperman Chair of Law & Professor of Law, Drake University Law School Director of the Drake Agricultural Law Center

Janie Hipp, USDA Senior Advisor for Tribal Relations and the Founding director of the USDA Office of Tribal Relations

Terry Centner, Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics, University of Georgia

History of the LL.M. Program: Panel Discussion with the Program Founders
4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Stacy Leeds, Dean of the University of Arkansas School of Law
Susan Schneider, Professor of Law, Director of the LL.M. Program in Agricultural & Food Law

Panel Discussion with LL.M. Program Founders:

Judge Jake Looney and Professors Don Pedersen and Neil Hamilton

In 1978, under the leadership of Dean Epstein, the faculty of the University of Arkansas School of Law voted in favor of starting an LL.M. Program focusing on Agricultural Law. Professor Jake Looney was hired as director of the new program in 1980.  He spent his first year developing policies for the Graduate Program, recruiting students and faculty, and meeting the administrative needs of the new program.

In 1981, Professor Neil Hamilton was hired for the second graduate program position and the first graduate class was enrolled in 1981-1982.

In 1982, Professor Looney became Dean of the Law School, and in 1983, Professor Don Pederson was hired as the new Director of the Graduate Program.  

Reception University House

5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.

There will be an informal reception across the street from the Law School at the University House immediately following the panel discussion. This reception will provide an opportunity for alumni to visit with Judge Looney and Professors Hamilton and Pedersen. And, it will provide an opportunity for all of us to welcome the class of 2013.  They begin their LL.M. studies this week.

For additional information, check out our UA Law website Alumni Reunion page.

No comments: